• Reuben's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • โณ Your 24hr early access link to my drop, and another giveaway ๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ

โณ Your 24hr early access link to my drop, and another giveaway ๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ

Hello again,

Breaking down my process, there seems to be two types of composition: composition of forms (physical elements in the frame), and composition of light.

Conventionally, this can mean waiting days, weeks, or months for the perfect angle of the Sun, but with aerial lighting I can literally create my own ephemeral moment in time, unlikely to happen ever again.

Video: Great Big Story

Composition, like many of my peers, has become mostly intuitive from years of practice, so itโ€™s revealing to break down an image like THE JETTY and mark up what I must have sensed on that night. Some elements feel intentional, like the framing of the zigzag pier, while others were more incidental and serendipitous, like the broken line of the drone (an accident - I forgot to cover the flashing lights) or the constellation of Orion in the top left of frame.

Here is your secret link to the drop, active now, 24hrs before it opens to the public tomorrow at 12pm CST. The print will be available for five days only.

THE JETTY (LN0507) is part of LUX NOCTIS - my most recognisable body of work that has been published far and wide, and held in printed form by institutions such as The Guggenheim, MoMA and The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Make sure to also download the free high res wallpaper of THE JETTY for your phone.

THE JETTY (LUX NOCTIS LN0507)

To learn more about Lux Noctis, take a quick look at my presentation at the National Geographic Storytellers Summit. I was so nervous I messed up my very first line ๐Ÿ˜„

photo: National Geographic/Taylor Mickal

THE JETTY is available in two sizes in editions of 69 and 55, plus a larger acrylic statement piece in an edition of 4, in framed and unframed options.

Each print ships with a unique numbered NFC-enabled & blockchain-registered Certificate of Authenticity that includes exclusive additional content.

image: @kulltur

I decided on this image as a follow up to ESCAPE VELOCITY because it opened up greater possibilities for the sequence of images. While the first image has an ancient/futuristic energy, this image feels more based in the present, and to me, tells a story about the unpredictable journeys our lives can take us on.

They also look great together as a diptych, complete with matching horizons.

THE JETTY will be the only piece available in this five day print drop, and may never be available again at this accessible price point. I hope you love it as much as I do ๐Ÿ–ค

AND FINALLY, MORE FREE STUFF!

The colour is a bit off in this gif, by the way

The Infinite Object video print of my most viral video, โ€˜Duneโ€™, aka โ€˜Sandvalancheโ€™, aka โ€˜Nissan al Gaibโ€˜, will be given to a randomly-chosen collector of THE JETTY. The lucky winner will be selected once the drop has ended.

If you have any questions or thoughts, you can get in touch with me by replying to this email and Iโ€™ll do my best to assist you.

Warmly,

reuben

โ€œHowever vast the darkness, we must supply our own light.โ€ Stanley Kubrick