My fav picture from a 20 hour long shoot šŸ„µ

Hello,

First of all, Iā€™m excited to announce that Iā€™ll be giving away another fine art print to one lucky email subscriber. All subscribers are eligible, and Iā€™ll randomly select the winner in about two weeks. If youā€™re receiving this email, thereā€™s nothing you need to doā€”just read on and enjoy the story behind the work.

Timelapse by Zac Henderson

ā€˜Aeroglyph Variationsā€™ is a series of 55 images, each captured over 20 hours of photographing the same subject. While every picture is identical, each one is also uniquely different.

The series is deeply inspired by my mumā€™s beautiful calligraphy, which has been her lifelong passion and vocation. I aimed to capture that same essence of calligraphy in my Aeroglyph work.

Chinese Calligraphy, the original emojis

While all 55 pieces are beautiful, Variation #18 immediately stood out as my favorite. The composition of light perfectly balances with the form, resulting in this compelling image. This weekend, I decided to make a 13ā€ Ɨ 19ā€ print of it, and I couldnā€™t be happier with the outcome.

For the photographers amongst you, I used a Phase One XT & IQ4 150mp camera and printed it on HahnemĆ¼hle PhotoRag Ultra Smooth 305gsm FineArt paper (my first time using this smooth matt paper type) using my Canon ProGraf 2100 printer.

Aeroglyph Variations #18

If you have a moment, please share a quick comment on why youā€™d like to win this print. I appreciate hearing your feedback, even if itā€™s not entirely positive. And stay tunedā€”thereā€™s something else coming later this week šŸ‘€

šŸ‘¶šŸ» WELCOME TO THE WORLDā€¦

Just over a month ago, my wife and I welcomed a beautiful baby boy, and both mother and son are doing great. Parenthood has been the most challenging yet rewarding experience of my life. Iā€™m excited to watch him discover the world, and it seems the gods are smilingā€”the lucky little fella already had his first glimpse of the aurora borealis!

dad & lad

AND FINALLYā€¦

I recently did an in-depth interview with carryology.com, where I discuss my life before photography, how I accidentally discovered my visual language, the art of travel, the essential items I always pack, and whatā€™s inside those Pelican cases. Check it out.

This flatlay took much longer than expected

As always, Iā€™d love to hear from you, whether itā€™s a response to this email, questions about the prints, or just to say hi šŸ‘‹

Warmly,

reuben

An Irresistible Force (2022)

ā€œBeware of looking for goals: look for a way of life. Decide how you want to live and then see what you can do to make a living WITHIN that way of life." Hunter S. Thompson