And the video print goes to....šŸ‘€

Hi there

After several busy months of back-to-back shoots in far-flung places, Iā€™m glad to be back in my home studio for a bit, and spend some much-needed time with my family, and make progress on a few personal projects.

LUX NOCTIS (2018)

One Iā€™m particularly excited about is my next book, the follow-up to my 2018 monograph LUX NOCTIS (above). Iā€™m currently making an edit from about 120 images and Iā€™m thrilled by the prospect of curating my best pieces for it.

Iā€™ll be sharing more updates here for those who are interested in the photo book process.

šŸ“¢ The main announcement I wanted to make is that Iā€™ll be launching my second timed print drop next Wednesday, July 10th. Like my first release, it will be open for a few days, but itā€™s very likely it will sell out much sooner, since the first drop sold out in under 4 hours.

It took a long time to decide on the follow up to ESCAPE VELOCITY, and the first reason why I chose it is its story:

THE JETTY was shot at the unique zigzag pier at St Monans, a small village on the east coast of Scotland. I drove all night after a week of band rehearsals with Ladytron as we prepared for another world tour. While the town was quiet and peaceful, the pier itself was being battered by big North Sea waves, and the loud and harsh environment I was photographing in was in stark contrast to the mood of the final ethereal image. The title comes from Chris Markerā€™s incredible 1962 science fiction short film, La JetĆ©e, a time travel story about post-nuclear war told entirely in still frames.

Climbing the seawall at St Monans

The next reason why I chose it Iā€™ll talk about in my next email.

Early next week, Iā€™ll send a pre-launch email that will get you instant exclusive access to the drop 24 hours before the public launch.

Portal (video print by Infinite Objects)

AND FINALLY, THE WINNER OF THE ā€œPORTALā€ VIDEO PRINT ISā€¦.šŸ†

Brandon M in the USA. Congratulations! I hope you enjoy this unique piece. In my next email, Iā€™ll share my plans for the remaining ā€œDUNEā€ video print (hereā€™s a hint: it involves the words ā€˜giveā€™ and ā€˜awayā€™).

Thanks to everyone who entered!

Warmly,

reuben

ā€œPhotography is a fiction. Itā€™s a still frame from a non-existent movie, or a single line from a forgotten poem.ā€